Skip to main content

Advisory committee

page banner image

The Advisory Committee provides expert opinions. The principal tasks of the Advisory Committee are:

  •  To assist the Administrative Committee in the preparation of the appointment of judges to the Court;
  •  To provide opinions on the suitability of candidate judges;
  •  To submit proposals on guidelines for the training framework for judges.

The Advisory Committee is composed of patent judges and practitioners in patent law and patent litigation with the highest recognised competence. Currently, the Advisory Committee comprises members proposed by each state having ratified the Protocol to the Agreement on a Unified Patent Court on provisional application (PPA).

The members of the Advisory Committee are appointed for a renewable term of six years. The composition of the Committee ensures a broad range of expertise. Its members are completely independent in the performance of their duties.

A chairperson for the Committee is elected from its members for a renewable term of three years. The Chairperson of the Advisory Committee is currently Mr Willem Hoyng (NL) and the Deputy Chairperson is Sylvie Mandel (FR).

The Advisory Committee has its own Rules of Procedure.

Once the Agreement on a Unified Patent Court (UPCA) will have entered into force, each State in which the UPCA is in force will propose a member, as far as this has not been already been done.

A list of all the members can be found below.


Mr Willem Hoyng
Deputy Chairperson:
Ms Sylvie Mandel
  • Mr Joachim Bornkamm (Member)
  • Mr Marko Brus (Member)
  • Mr Mads Bundgaard Larsen (Member)
  • Ms Marie Courboulay (Alternate member)
  • Ms Els Herregodts (Member)
  • Mr Reinhard Hinger (Member)
  • Mr Toon Huydecoper (Alternate member)
  • Mr Mart Enn Koppel (Member)
  • Mr Peter Meier-Beck (Alternate member)
  • Mr Kimmo Mikkola (Member)
  • Ms Lyubka Petrova (Member)
  • Ms Yuliya Raeva (Alternate member)
  • Mr Vittorio Ragonesi (Member)
  • Ms Emmanuelle Ragot (Member)
  • Mr Albin Schwarz (Alternate member)
  • Mr Massimo Scuffi (Alternate member)
  • Mr Peter Strömberg (Member)
  • Ms Magda Teppey (Alternate member)