Skip to main content

Administrative Committee

page banner image

The UPC is an international organisation with the following governing bodies:

  • The Administrative Committee
  • The Budget Committee

There is also an Advisory Committee to the UPC.

The Administrative Committee, amongst other things:

  • Appoints the judges;
  • Adopts the secondary legislation of the Court;
  • Amends inter alia the Rules of Procedure of the Court, the Financial Regulations, and the Table of Court Fees;
  • Adopts its own Committee Rules.

The Administrative Committee currently comprises representatives from each State having ratified the Protocol to the Agreement on a Unified Patent Court on provisional application (PPA) as well as observers. These observers include other EU Member States and the European Commission.

Each State that is a member of the Committee has one vote. The Administrative Committee generally adopts its decisions by a majority of three quarters of the States represented and voting.
A chairperson is elected from amongst the members for a renewable term of three years. The Administrative Committee has elected Mr Alexander Ramsay (SE) as its Chairperson and Mr Johannes Karcher (DE) as its Deputy Chairperson who is also currently the Acting Chairperson.

Once the Agreement on a Unified Patent Court (UPCA) will have entered into force, representatives from each State in which the UPCA is in force will be members of the Administrative Committee.

A list of all the representatives can be found below.


Acting Chairman / Deputy Chairman:
Mr Johannes Karcher (DE)
  • AT: Austria
    Ms Raphaela Tiefenbacher
  • BE: Belgium
    Mr Gunther Aelbrecht
    Alternate member
    Mr Ben De Temmerman
  • BG: Bulgaria
    Ms Vladia Borissova
    Alternate member
    Ms Iveta Istiliyanova
  • DK: Denmark
    Ms Laila Lindemark
    Alternate member
    Mr Asbjørn Hæstrup Hansen
  • EE: Estonia
    Mr Margus Viher
  • FI: Finland
    Mr Antti Leinonen
  • FR: France
    Mr Max Brunner
    Alternate member
    Mr Fabrice Claireau
  • DE: Germany
    Mr Christian Wichard
    Alternate member
    Mr Johannes Karcher
  • IT: Italy
    Amb. Vincenzo Grassi
    Alternate member
    Mr Tommaso Andria
  • LU: Luxembourg
    Mr Jean Olinger
    Alternate member
    Mr Nicola Schreiner
  • NL: Netherlands
    Mr Paul van Beukering
    Alternate member
    Ms Marja van der Sluis
  • SI: Slovenia
    Ms Daša Vidmar Mikšić
    Alternate member
    Ms Tanja Trtnik
  • SE: Sweden
    Ms Louise Petrelius
  • Czech Republic (CZ)
  • Hungary (HU)
  • Ireland (IE)
  • Latvia (LV)
  • Lithuania (LT)
  • Poland (PL)
  • Portugal (PT)
  • Slovakia (SK)
  • Spain (ES)

Unified Patent Court:

President of the Court of Appeal and President of the Court of First Instance, assisted by other members of the Presidium and by officials and staff of the Unified Patent Court.

Chairman of the Budget Committee:

Mr Bruno Leboullenger (FR)

Chairman of the Advisory Committee:

Mr Willem Hoyng

  • European Union (represented by the European Commission);
  • European Patent Organisation;
  • European Patent Lawyers Association (EPLAW);
  • European Patent Litigators Association (EPLIT);
  • The Institute of Professional Representatives before the European Patent Office (epi) ;
  • BusinessEurope.